Quiet days

crochet_blanket

The weather outside is stormy, with snow showers threatened.  Moo has gone rollerskating with friends.  What better things to do on an afternoon tucked up inside away from the rains, than finishing off crochet blankets (sewing in ends – not my favourite job, but a necessary one) and getting organised food-wise (because with a baby on the way I’m trying to get back into the rhythm of menu planning in an effort to ensure we avoid some of the last minute, “I’m exhausted and can’t bear to stand in the kitchen without being sick” moments that are inevitable when you’re heavily pregnant).

A good source of ideas (and reading on nutrition) are Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon, Wholefood for Children and Coming Home to Eat: Wholefood for the Family, both by Jude Blereau.  All are great references for back to basics/cook from scratch recipes and I’d love to treat myself to a few more books from these authors when I get the chance!

Joining in with Ginny from the lovely Small Things blog in her Yarnalong and Nicole’s Frontier Dreams’ Keep Calm and Craft On (both for what seems like the first time in ages!)  Both are blogs that I have now followed for years and are a wonderful read!

22 thoughts on “Quiet days

    • idesgarden says:

      Thank you. You didn’t miss anything, though, as I didn’t announce it. I always feel a bit awkward announcing things, I’m not really a shout-it-from-the-rooftops kind of person, I prefer to pootle on quietly 🙂

      Like

    • idesgarden says:

      Thank you 🙂 Yes, it is a fiddly task – I always worry a bit about strands coming loose, so generally have to sew them in (even though I’ll carry them through a bit when I remember to whilst working).

      Like

    • idesgarden says:

      Thank you 🙂 The colours were more because a friend gifted me a basket of yarn that she had been trying to learn with and decided that she just didn’t have the time or inclination. I wasn’t too sure what to do with it, so figured a couple of colourful blankets would be the way to go 🙂

      Like

      • silkandwool says:

        I had some real life friends to share my hobby, but so far it’s only the on-line community. I really like the blanket – I’m planning to make one as a gift and looking for some inspiration.

        Like

      • idesgarden says:

        The internet has been such a boon for finding like-minded people – it’s not always so easy in real life! Crochet blankets are handy because they hook up so quickly – I’ve been getting on with a flower shaped one for Anna’s dolls (using up what was left of that yarn).

        Like

      • silkandwool says:

        I agree – for blankets (and usually garments), crochet is so much quicker than knitting! But for some reason, crocheted toys (amigirumis) take me so much longer than similar-sized knitted toys…

        Like

      • idesgarden says:

        The only toy I’ve crocheted is a rather large hobby horse (his head turned out much larger than was really necessary, IMO) years ago, mostly if I knit toys (and it isn’t often any more as we’re so snowed under here after 5 children) they’re fairly small pieces and typically doll’s clothes (have just finished a little crocheted starburst doll’s blanket for youngest daughter’s doll’s pram, but need to to get on with baby knitting before I can do much more on that front, I think).

        Like

    • idesgarden says:

      It wasn’t low-key, so much as unannounced. I find these things become fairly self-evident in time and I escape the inevitable discussion for a while. Plus there’s the slight amusement of how long it takes people to notice/comment and whether they muster up the courage to just ask 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

