A Lyalya for Anna and a Pocketful of Pinecones

Pink Lyalya

I finally got around to posting a Keep Calm Craft On and a Yarn Along post (joining in Nicole at Frontier Dreams and Ginny at Small Things, respectively).  I have done other knitting and crochet, but am still to properly finish them (ie sew a back onto the cushion I knitted and block the shawlette).

The one small thing I did finish properly (and with some haste with a sudden chill in the weather) was a Lyalya for Anna (Ravelry link) as it seemed the perfect hat to keep little ears and necks warm (and also use up stash).

I made Ted one last year (he likes wearing it over his chin).

And a sleeping Anna pic from yesterday (after a visit to Nanna and Ninny  – John’s family’s pet name for Nanna’s mother – which is very strange as my own grandmother, is a Ninette (who my own Nin is named after).  Coincidences abound between the two families!

Having seen a recommendation for “A Pocketful of Pinecones” by Karen Andreola (Amazon link) on the ever lovely Homebaked (probably on a previous Yarn Along!) and as I’ve been interested in learning more about the Charlotte Mason approach to home-educating, I bought it to see whether I would enjoy it as much as Hannah ( Homebaked) did.

Written in a diary style and set in the 1930s, it tells the story of a mother just starting out with home-educating her two children using the Charlotte Mason approach.  It’s an easy read and maybe a little simplistic (and stereotyped), but I did enjoy it and it did give me some ideas (and some book suggestions to look out for).  The book is very Christian in its focus, which isn’t a problem for me, but might grate a little for some people, and it did come across as a bit ‘twee’, so probably not for everyone.  I will, however, be looking for the sequel, “Lessons at Blackberry Inn(Amazon link) but will likely look to pick it up second-hand.

I’m looking forward to seeing what other people have been up to!

10 thoughts on “A Lyalya for Anna and a Pocketful of Pinecones

  1. Hannah says:

    Sorry I was so slow to notice this, Nikki. Twee is a good description but I kind of like a bit of twee! I was so thrilled to find fictional diary-type stories from the perspective of a new home educating parent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

