Swampy soup

Pea & mint soup

Aka pea and mint soup – it might not look like much, but sometimes the simplest of meals can be the best.  Nin maintains it looks like swamp (not that she’s ever seen one), or perhaps snot – children are so lovely *sigh*.

Nin and Ted were asleep by 6pm, dh was working on the Isle of Wight, so the older boys and I made popcorn and got out Risk.  Is there a much better way of spending a Friday night?

Playing Risk

I finished the red cushion.  Originally covered in a ‘fluffy’ cover (what were we thinking buying fluffy cushion covers with 4 children, 2 cats and a dog in the house?)  Gilbert (the Korat) took exception to them and has systematically been tearing the fluff out.  He approves of the new cushion far more.

Red cushion

It wasn’t the most inspiring knit, I’m rather flitty by nature and knitting two squares isn’t the sort of thing that holds my attention well, but it had to be done (well, a second one also has to be done, but I’m working up to that).

If you’re interested, here’s a close up (I need a bit of practice with close-up photos):

red cushion 2

Whilst I’m on the subject of knitting, I finished this little doll a while ago, she’s a prototype, as I’ve designed the pattern myself, it needs a bit of a tweak:

Knitted mermaid  Knitted mermaid without tail

As you can see, her tail is removeable.  Her tail fin needs to be larger and her arms a little longer – but I’m pleased with how she turned out and will be making the necessary amendments with the next one (once I’ve finished the few bits I need to get done before that – Nin needs a new dressing gown and I’m finishing off a cowboy hat for Ted’s doll).

And finally, the perfect thing for a rainy day?  Make playdough!

Home-made Playdough

9 thoughts on “Swampy soup

  1. Esther says:

    Risk is such a good Friday night game I approve 🙂

    I must try making playdough with none gluten flours an see if I can get a good version because I have had problems with warm wheat packs so playing with the normal stuff is a bad plan tm.

    Oh and the doll is adorable very good if that is a first try from scratch !

    Like

  2. Sarah says:

    Hi! Thanks for visiting Buttercup Corner! Glad to meet you. :)We (Daughter C and I) love the mermaid. We hope you share the pattern too. And the yarn choices are lovely as well. Did you dye it yourself?

    Like

  3. Ninny Noodle Noo says:

    Hi, just replying here too (as well as on your blog) for clarity.

    I’m glad people like the mermaid – I’ll have to make a detour from knitting a dressing gown for my daughter to sort out the arms and then I’ll post it.

    It’s knitted using Blue Faced Leicester yarn (for the most part) from The Natural Dye Studio: http://www.thenaturaldyestudio.com who dye the most lovely colourways and have also recently started dye-ing roving (so well worth a look). The hair is naturally-dyed mohair boucle.

    I’ve made a personal committment to try to only buy more ‘ethically produced’ yarn in the future, so am currently stash-busting to use up what I have already, any future yarn purchases I’ll try to make with more consideration to the source (hence I like The Natural Dye Studio, because I know Amanda cares about these things).

    Luckily a friend of mine has set up a new business selling yarn that she is sourcing with consideration to its source and production methods: http://ecoknits.co.uk

    So along with a few other producers out there (there are some fabulous natural dyers out there), it looks like I’ll be all set.

    I just have to work through some of my stash, because at present I don’t physically have the space for more yarn!

    Like

  4. Ninny Noodle Noo says:

    Funnily enough I’ve been working on it this evening 😉

    It’s been taking a while to get round to as I had to get a couple of practical things done (and there’s been a recent family bereavement, hence the lack of blogging, because atm I’m just trying to find the words to blog about that), but I’m onto the second body piece now (just checking it), so it won’t take too long to get the basic body up, I’ve been fiddling with a couple of increases on the body and where the best place to put them is (they’re rather fiddly as they stand, but then I have big clumpy hands which can make knitting on 1.5mms with sock weight a bit of a pain at times!)

    Anyway, shouldn’t be long now 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

