Snot, sniffles and turning blue

I’m convinced there is something in the power of 3 – not least that upsetting things come in 3s.

Ted’s been a bit snotty for the past few days but I hadn’t thought much of it (after all, so is everyone else here). However Saturday morning he started wheezing and rattling and then coughing so much he was sick.

I phoned the out-of-hours drs,‚ conceding that really he should maybe be checked over.

“It sounds like we need to see him.” Said the dr, “Bring him in.”

“How?” I asked (the out-of-hours surgery is 2 bus rides away and I can’t drive and couldn’t get hold of dh on the phone).

“The bus.” Was the answer.

“So I’m supposed to take a poorly, vomiting 21 month old on two buses to save you the inconvenience of doing a home visit?” I asked.

“A taxi then.”

I pointed out that whilst ordinarily this wouldn’t be a problem, dh is self-employed and won’t be paid until the end of the job he’s doing which means right now we’re right at the wire – this is normal, sometimes things get a bit tight until he’s paid (especially when other things have come up to be paid, like tax).

“Ask your neighbours.” Said the decidedly irritated GP.

I replied that one neighbour doesn’t drive, the other is heavily pregnant and was he suggesting that I should expose her to poorly, possibly infectious children. I reiterated that a home-visit would probably be the safest solution to this problem.

“No.” Was the reply. “That’s what this surgery is for. I’ll send a non-urgent ambulance. It’ll be a few hours.”

I did say that I would ask Ted to try to not be ill on a weekend and perhaps he would also like a bash at explaining that and that surely a better use of services would be to send GPs out to children who are clearly ill.

The GP hung up.

By the time the ambulance driver called Ted was screaming in pain and wheezing even more badly.

“I’ll be a couple more hours.” He said.

Ted started turning blue. I called the paramedics, who were here whilst I was on the phone (so really cannot fault that for a response)‚ and he was rushed to hospital on oxygen. Poor baby didn’t even flinch when they put the mask and monitors on him.

Sometimes I really wonder what the point of an out-of-hours GP service is because generally when you need a dr you’re not in any fit state to travel into town and out of it again.

Ted was given steroids and 2 hourly nebuliser. His temp was high and he was really struggling to breathe for a while. He came out yesterday afternoon and has been given an inhaler for the next week – which is interesting as he needs 10 puffs every four hours and he only has to see the inhaler and starts screaming – so his lungs are now in pretty good nick then 😉

Incidentally, the non-urgent ambulance driver phoned again at 6pm Saturday to say he’d be another couple of hours to be told by my rather irate husband that Ted had been rushed to hospital quite some hours before.

So I’ve been living on a couple of hours sleep a night and am operating pretty much on auto-pilot, which is not a pleasant thing at the best of times, least of all as I’m working and currently going up and down to the school 3 times a day.‚ I’ve given notice on two of the children (from the same family) as it’s really not working and so am basically stopping that job, which means back to square one on the money-front – but well, family-life is more important (and that’s an entirely separate blog that I don’t have head-space to type atm).

10 thoughts on “Snot, sniffles and turning blue

  1. Esther says:

    Hugs poor thing. That’s one advantage of living in a city the doc isn’t far away. Our normal surgery is at the end of the road and even the drop in centre is only a 10 min bus ride. I do agree though there is a point when home visits should be done I know they get a lot of people wanting visits who could have got to the surgery but when it’s a small person and the travel is obviously ridiculous and impractical that is just the sort of case they should do a visit for.

    Like

  2. Denise says:

    That’s awful, I’m glad he’s ok. Our out of hours service went bust so we have to go to A & E at the moment, alright for us who live a few minutes away but the hospital covers an area up to 40 miles away.

    Like

  3. Shirl says:

    Really awful. Sometimes I don’t know how these doctors sleep at night knowing they are putting money above children’s health.

    Sorry to hear you are back to square one on the money front. But, you are absolutely right “your” family first.

    Bws, Shirl

    Like

  4. Elle says:

    That’s terrible, so glad he’s OK now. I remember having a bit of a battle with out previous doctors when Katie was a lot younger, but luckily for me, I persuaded them to come out to me as I too was car less and didn’t feel Katie was up to a taxi or bus ride to the surgery. Mind you, the doctor who visited was really off with me although it was a needed visit. Doubt they’d do that now – times have changed unfortunately. Elle

    Like

  5. dawniy says:

    oh dear , sending love from all of us, we had this a lot with Lana when she was little. And don’t they just make us feel like fussy mothers, hope he’s ok .
    how’s richard?

    Like

  6. Tech says:

    Oh Nikki how awful. Well, awful doesn’t cover it but I’m speechless to be honest at such shocking treatment. Haven’t been here for ages – very lax at blog reading lately .

    Like

Leave a Reply

